Drinking the Kool-aid: epublishing a book

Believe Me

I did it.

I have drunk the Kool-aid.

I have self-published an ebook.

I retained the UK rights of my book, Believe Me, and, curious about all the fuss, I decided to publish it on Kindle through Amazon.co.uk.

Et, tu, Nina?

I’m afraid so. But, you know what?

It was fun.

Really fun.

I chose ebookpartnership and they acted exactly like that. A partnership. Always on the other end of the email. Friendly, business-like and prompt.

But that said, I am now am so much more impressed and GRATEFUL for what a traditional publisher did for me. Thank you, Bloomsbury and Penguin.

As my own publisher I had to:

Pay to have a cover made.

Pay to get my file transformed into efiles.

Pay to have any payment to me actually transferred to me.

I am going to release another book soon that has not been previously published and have had to additionally:

Pay to have the book edited.

Pay to have it copy edited. (Well actually that was a very nice gift from a friend. Thank you, Jessica Lerche.)

Not cheap. In terms of time or money.

But I like the sense of control. I like choosing the cover. In fact I’ve always been one of those authors never really satisfied with the cover my publishers assigned. Always kvetching. But when I have to choose a cover I immediately realize I have no idea what I was doing. And that maybe these professionals actually knew a thing or two. And all those covers I scoffed at: well, actually I’m not sure I can do better.

Believe Me is about a woman and her son and their debate about religion. She is a card-carrying atheist astronomer and he’s sneaking out to Bible class. I changed the cover from the Penguin cover which was targeting the female audience and have tried to entice more teenagers who I think might like the book. We’ll see.

Now, as with the traditional publishers, the marketing is up to me. Which explains this post 🙂

Though Bloomsbury and Penguin were good at getting my books reviewed. Again, thank you.

So tell me. Anyone out there doing the same thing? Any good stories?

And oh, yes, of course. Because you know you want to!!!

BELIEVE ME by Nina Killham

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Drinking the Kool-aid: epublishing a book

  1. This is great, Nina! I don’t have any personal stories, but the Murderati group has been discussing ePublishing for the last two weeks. Alexandra Sokoloff’s posts have been especially interesting.

    I think I’m still going to try traditional publishing . . . but it’s nice to have to option, I think, even with the added expense.

  2. Congratulations Nina! I cant wait to download the book on my kindle. I love watching your career blossom, my daughter is following in your footsteps, and I love her writing. Read your bio aain and Did not recall you living in Belgium as well. We were in Denmark together but what years were you in Belgium ? At ISB as well? I wonder if our paths crossed there as well? -:)

  3. ninakillham

    Thanks, Sarah. I will check out Alexandra’s posts. Hope you’re doing well. And yes, do pursue the traditional route. It is worthwhile and your writing is gorgeous.

  4. ninakillham

    Hi Joyce, thanks so much. Yes, my family went to Brussels after Copenhagen. I went to Belgian schools. We were there for three years and then back to the States. Ah, such a long time ago now….

  5. Chris Forman

    Welcome to the Dark Side of writing. Let me know when the new one is out.

  6. David Bruskin

    How about a BELIEVE ME page on Facebook — or Nina Killham page to promote all your works — and start getting your friends around the world to Like it. Twitter would be a good idea, too. Forgive if these are in place already — and if they are, why haven’t I heard? 🙂

  7. David Bruskin

    Oh — and all kinds of religious and/orathiest periodicals and websites? (Haven’t read the book yet so I don’t know if either or both would be appropriate.)

  8. ninakillham

    Ha! Yes, I know what you mean, Chris. I just sent the the final cover so it won’t be long now… xx

  9. ninakillham

    Hey David. So great to hear from you. I know I should have a facebook page (aside from the personal one) but I think deep down I’m afraid no one will like it. Insecurities insecurities, snapping like turtles in my ear…. x

  10. David Bruskin

    With a little Xanax and a chunk of cyber-effort (not that your plate isn’t already full), one might change those clicking sounds from insecurities to “Likes.” (Easy for me to say, I know. But friends have friends, and so on, and so on, and so on…. That’s what FB is all about.)

  11. ninakillham

    Very good point, David. You’ve inspired me!

Leave a Reply

