Good and Sick

I woke up yesterday with a honking, gooey hooter of a cold. Eyeballs packed with shrapnel, lungs occupied by phlegm activists, a nose so runny I reached for the cheese biscuits. (Ok, that last one was gross.)

I haven’t been so knock-down flat out sick in a long time.

I spent the morning listening with one ear as the children were corralled by my husband into eating their breakfast, getting dressed for school and stepping out the door. And then I heard nothing blissfully for hours.

The world out there continued on, working, rushing, living, while I dozed and hacked and snorted.

I was so devoid of energy that I thought if the world came to an end, well, shit happens.

Not enough oomph for fear or horror.

On my bed I lay all day, legs sprawled, my arms curled around my aching sides, my splitting head pressed against my pillow. In the afternoon I watched the light fade on a day I spent doing absolutely nothing.

Downstairs, the kitchen counter grew stalagmites of food droppings. The production line of laundry fell silent. My computer never even got turned on. Decisions and errands and even a meeting were postponed. I listened to the world go on, busy, busy, busy, and smiled.

If I didn’t feel so awful I’d really be enjoying this.

photo by Joeywan (flicker)

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Good and Sick

  1. Hope you feel better soon.

    And when you do, stay put for a while and reap the benefits! 🙂

  2. ninakillham

    Thanks, Sarah. Ooo, I like the Queen of Hearts profile pix. x

  3. I hope you get to feeling better! I just recently got sick myself and seem to be much better today, but was working and having to stuff tissues in my pockets just because.
    The worst is that ‘sick voice’ you get so everyone is like, “Ohh… are you sick?” Yes, that’s why I’m needing to plug my nose right now!

  4. ninakillham

    Sarah, I hope you’re feeling better too. Yes, that ‘sick voice’. Know it too well. Sounding a bit like a broken down muffler right now.

  5. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have excellent content on your blog.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Content Writers Jobs

  6. It really gets better on day 3 if family allows you more peace – that’s how I got through the Steve Jobs bio – hours of guiltless reading – bliss!

  7. ninakillham

    Ha, Trisha. I know. I’ve been curled up with a fascinating book called Get Smashed about the British advertising industry. Good stuff.

  8. Lisa

    Hope you’re feeling better Nina. You should definitely play this up for a day or two after you’re better though…there’s something nice about the freedom being sick for a few days gives you. Nobody expects anything….take care and stay warm!

  9. ninakillham

    Thanks, Lisa. Yes, it’s starting to get a wee bit chilly here in London. And the wind is starting to blow….

Leave a Reply

