Is that a catastrophe I hear or am I just trying to get out of writing?

OK, I don’t know about you but I can’t get any writing done. Especially with news headlines like this:

Latest: KING WARNS BANKS TO PREPARE FOR EURO STORM
Sam Fleming Economics Editor
Updated 27 minutes ago
The Bank of England has urged banks to bolster their defences so they can withstand an “exceptionally threatening environment” brought about by the euro crisis. Sir Mervyn King, the Governor, said in a press conference that the rapidly deteriorating conditions in the financial markets bore the hallmarks of a “systemic crisis” as he urged banks to shore up their cash and capital reserves. The interim Financial Policy Committee, chaired by Sir Mervyn, is instructing banks to impose limits on their distributions of dividends and bonuses, as they conserve capital in response to threats such as a possible euro breakup. Lenders should also give serious consideration to raising capital from outside sources. Sir Mervyn had earlier told a news conference…

And so on….

I am fixated. I know, another excuse. But really, I can’t decide. Is this all tempest in a teapot? Or are we all going down the drain? Should we be grabbing on to the drain plug as we swirl by?

When I went to dinner with a banker friend the other night, he advised: Buy land and guns.

Ok.

Really?

Really truly?

Because I’m having trouble enough not concentrating. So please don’t give me something else to obsess about that is not my manuscript.

So tell me straight. Should I really be stocking up at the grocer’s and pulling up my gardenias and peonies to make way for potatoes and tubers? Hopping down to the local drug dealer and perusing his set of Saturday night specials?

Anyway, I won’t look anymore today. I promise. I’m getting 500 words written today. No matter what. Even if the currency explodes.

Oh, wait a minute….

 

photo by MyEyeSees (flickr)

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Is that a catastrophe I hear or am I just trying to get out of writing?

  1. Loved the post! I have the same trouble, I think all authors do. We don’t want to confront difficult tasks and so we obsess about other things. Here in the U.S. they have been yapping about the economy for 2 years, and I’ve learned to ignore all the dooms day reports. There shall be no bunkers, guns or stockpiling of canned goods for me LOL!

  2. ninakillham

    Excellent, Rachel. You and I will hang tough together!

  3. I’m stockpiling chocolate and diet Pepsi. But that’s nothing new.

    (psst, Nina: is synopsis writing difficult for everyone, or am I exceptionally thick?)

  4. ninakillham

    Oh, god, I hate synopsis writing. But I found Randy Ingermanson’s Snowflake idea helpful in not only approaching my latest novel but also writing the synopsis for my agent. Check out Step five of the Ten Steps of Design where he talks about character synopsis. Good luck!

  5. Miranda

    We’re all doomed!

  6. ninakillham

    I think you’re right, Miranda. But I say we all step aside and let Jeremy Clarkson go down the drain first….

  7. I also wonder how bad this economic situation is going to get. Now, your banker friend’s advice makes me rethink the backyard landscaping project set for spring. Maybe I’ll plant a large vegetable garden.

  8. ninakillham

    Hi JoDee, a large veggie garden sounds good. I’m starting to check out how to raise chickens. Kidding. I prefer like my chickens quartered, saran-wrapped and date-stamped!

  9. What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this web page
    on a regular basis, this web site is genuinely fastidious and the users are
    genuinely sharing fastidious thoughts.

  10. ninakillham

    Hi SorrentoMoon. Thanks! I think Brunswick may be our baby.

Leave a Reply

