Can I quote you on that?

I’m going to be a bit busy the next couple of weeks so I thought I’d leave you with some writing quotes from some of my favorite writers. When I went to look for some quotes I ran across this great website full of them.

Here are some that spoke to me.

The faster I write the better my output. If I’m going slow, I’m in trouble. It means I’m pushing the words instead of being pulled by them.
Raymond Chandler

Quantity produces quality. If you only write a few things, you’re doomed.
Ray Bradbury

Writing a novel is like driving a car at night. You can only see as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.
E. L. Doctorow

Sometimes you have to go on when you don’t feel like it, and sometimes you’re doing good work when it feels like all you’re managing is to shovel shit from a sitting position.
Stephen King

Writing makes no noise, except groans, and it can be done everywhere, and it is done alone.
Ursula K. LeGuin

All the words I use in my stories can be found in the dictionary – it’s just a matter of arranging them into the right sentences.
Somerset Maugham

There’s no such thing as writer’s block. That was invented by people in California who couldn’t write.
Terry Pratchett

The measure of artistic merit is the length to which a writer is willing to go in following his own compulsions.
John Updike

I love being a writer. What I can’t stand is the paperwork.
Peter de Vries

Every word written is a victory against death.
Michel Butor

and my personal favorite…drum roll please….

Being a good writer is 3% talent, 97% not being distracted by the Internet.
Anonymous

photo by Rose Blue (flickr)

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Can I quote you on that?

  1. Love the last one …

    And reading Ray Bradbury’s quote, I guess I’ve got to up my game … and my output!

    Write well, Nina – have a good few weeks.

  2. ninakillham

    Thanks, Candy. Yes, that last one REALLY speaks to me. xx

  3. i love all of these, particularly King and Pratchett.

    But I particularly want the de Vries one on a tee-shirt!

  4. ninakillham

    Hey Sarah, I love the de Vries. I think you could do a whole line of merchandise with that one! x

  5. All great, but this one made me laugh out loud!
    “There’s no such thing as writer’s block. That was invented by people in California who couldn’t write.
    Terry Pratchett”
    Thanks, Nina! ❤

  6. Carol Anderson

    facebook would SO be my downfall! Love them all, I’d buy a t-shirt with any of those!

  7. ninakillham

    Hi Lisa! Yeah, that California one is hilarious. I miss you! x

  8. ninakillham

    Carol, I’m wondering if we should start a franchise….

  9. Lisa

    Okay Nina…that last one just made me close my facebook page!!!

  10. ninakillham

    Hee hee…. x

  11. Pingback: {Life} My Love Letter To Words | Meg's Mumbo

Leave a Reply

