#writingweekfail

Ok, I’ll admit it. I had a bit of a #writingweekfail.

(And no, it’s not because I’ve been hanging out on Twitter too much!)

My excuse is thus:

1. I was asked to write a short story for a collection of photos called Still by Roelof Bakker and I was busy trying to come up with something. I have just finished the first draft and am hoping it’s not too strange.

2. (And more importantly) I read the book I was supposed to be writing.

Damn, I hate that when that happens.

OK, maybe not exactly the same book. But close enough for me to drop my pen, hold my head in my hands and cry.

My husband, always the reasoned one, said, But didn’t you check to see if anyone had written something like this?

Well, I did check. But I typed in Singapore. Not Hong Kong where this particular story was set.

The book is The Piano Teacher, set during and after WWII. The characters are British and Chinese. It is a love story of sorts. All the things I was going to write about. But in Singapore. Not HONG KONG!!

After hyperventilating I’ve decided to keep going for now. There are differences. Which I won’t go into because it’s all suppose to be a surprise.

So without further ado let me reveal my word count: 1345

I know.

Next week will be better. I promise.

Hope you all had a better week. x

photo by e(Spry) from Flickr

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#writingweekfail

  1. I finished two chapters this week. i have roughtly 18 hours on my personal and completely arbitrary deadline to finish the rest.

    Even if I miss, and I may, as my family might want to celebrate my birthday at one point and it would be rude to tell them no, i will be 12,000 words and several plot points closer.

    And I’ll have found out a few things about time management and what works for me. That’s not #Fail. That’s #Learning Experience.

  2. ninakillham

    Wow, Sarah. 12,000. That’s great. I’m very impressed. And Happy Birthday. A whole novel will be a damn good birthday present to yourself, eh?

Leave a Reply

