New Years Resolution

Happy New Year, everyone!

We’re back. The house is in one piece and it’s, surprise, surprise, raining.

I was smart enough to marry an Australian and therefore get to spend alternate Christmases swimming with the great white sharks in the turquoise blue sea off Western Australia. And then towelling off and sitting in the sand sipping an excellent Margaret River shiraz.

Of course I was glad to see this video AFTER I’d returned home. The attack occured down the shore from where we were staying.

The drawback of travelling so far, unfortunately, besides the expense, is the jetlag. This morning the entire household was up wandering around at 4 am. Better than the 3 am the morning before I guess.

But now it is time to get back to work.

And decide on a New Year’s resolution.

I am thinking about taking up karate. This year is a big birthday for me. (No, I don’t want to talk about it.)

Suffice to say that if I start this year I just might manage to become a black belt by the time I’m 60. Which could be a good thing. Maybe my smooth moves and quick reaction would dazzle a marauding shark.

Then again, maybe not.

So. What are your New Year’s resolutions?

Besides drinking more wine and eating more chocolate.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “New Years Resolution

  1. I think I’m going to take up Tai Chi this year, if I can find the time. Most of my characters practice it, and I feel left out . . .

  2. yikes to the shark!

    mine has to be drinking less wine and less chocolate … and trying to continue to enjoy writing now that i’m being paid for it.

  3. ninakillham

    Which is wonderful, Candy. And all the more reason to eat more chockies and drink more wine!

  4. ninakillham

    Happy New Year, Sarah! Maybe I’ll get my characters to practice karate, then I can take the price of the classes off my taxes. Hmmm…

  5. Kim

    Was in the beginning stages of planning a March trip to the out islands of the bahamas when I came across a story of a tiger shark that was pulled in by some fisherman and out of its mouth was dangling a human foot! When they cut the shark open the rest of the remains fell out! I was horrified, told my kids was rethinking our trip (the cooks at the hotel I chose chum the waters off the restaurant dock to bring the sharks in) and they told me I was crazy, we humans had practically killed off all the sharks. I don’t think so, still far too many out there for my liking. Think we’ll go to a lake instead. ..

Leave a Reply

