Silence

I drink silence like champagne.
I listen to it as if it were an aria.
It is my most prized possession.
I wake up early and try to catch it before it is popped by the cacophony of my children.
At night I wake and listen to it settle like a blanket around our house.

I need silence to figure out my thoughts. I need silence to compose my words. I need silence to remain sane.

If I don’t get a bit every day I get

v.e.r.y. c.r.a.n.k.y.

Here are a few of my favorite silence quotes:

Silence is the true friend that never betrays. Confucius

Silence is one of the great arts of conversation. Cicero

Never miss a good chance to shut up. Will Rogers

photo by Morti Riuuallon (flickr)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Silence

  1. David Bruskin

    ” .”

  2. ninakillham

    Very funny, David!

Leave a Reply

