No Drink January

I tried to conduct a No Drink January.

I, ah, failed.

I saw it advertised around and it got me thinking.

Thinking, god, what a horrible idea.

But I thought I’d give it a go. Mainly I wanted to see if I was an alcoholic. I definitely drink more in the UK than I did in the US. And I don’t know if it’s because now I have children or if there really is more of a drinking culture.

I have gotten better. I don’t drink every day now. I’ve cut back to drinking wine on weekends. Of course, when my kids were younger I needed it more. If I didn’t have a glass of chardonnay in my hand at 6 pm, someone was going to pay.Though it tended to have the opposite affect I wanted. I was sliding down into mellow mode but my children were still flying around the room. I found having a drink actually made me crankier.

Drinking is just a habit, isn’t it? That hankering erupting at about 6:30 like the saliva glands of Pavlov’s dog.

So after a celebratory season like this Christmas and New Years, a 31-day detox seemed like a prudent idea.

And I was going along swimmingly until mid-month when a friend invited everyone to a pub for her birthday.

Well, had to have one glass of champagne, didn’t I? Just to be polite.

Then a couple of days later it was book club. Everyone knows you can not talk about books without a glass of red wine in your hand.

The next week, my husband and I went to Madrid for the weekend and well, what was I going to drink with all those tapas, water?

And then, this past Friday I figured I’d already messed up for the month, so what the hell.

Oh, January has 31 days, not 30?

So here I am in February and mighty thirsty. And though I didn’t manage a complete No Drink January I feel somewhat relieved.

I now know I can resist a drink if I put my mind to it.

I just haven’t put my mind to it….

photo by Marco Veringa (flickr)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “No Drink January

  1. OK, now I have self-doubt about the project I’m working on AND I’m pretty sure that a large glass of wine (in the evenings of course) isn’t the way to solve it! Damn! Perhaps that’s where I’ve been going wrong.

  2. ninakillham

    Actually for me, self doubt and a glass of wine is an entrancing combination!

Leave a Reply

