Christmas in London

Nothing beats staying in London for Christmas. I love going to all the parties, running into the same people, nibbling hot Devils on Horsebacks and drinking too much bubbly. Cozy fires, children dashing through the rooms, pink, pinker, pinkest cheeks.

And this year has been especially wonderful with the grand sprinkling of snow.

I needed to pick up my daughter from a play date last night and realized that I had to walk to get her because of all the snow that had accumulated since I dropped her off.

So I set out on foot, walking past the long line of cars at a standstill. It was beautiful out, hoodies making snowmen in the side streets, people grinning at each other with big white flakes stuck their hats. The bright council Christmas lights shining from the lampposts. Kebab vendors at their doors, eyes big at the white oasis outside their shops.

I hope I’m ready for Christmas. Got all the presents, the food, the drink. Though I have yet again not managed to send out cards.

Every year I think I will get to them and every year I have failed. And so when the cards start arriving at our door, I am overwhelmed with the love and care and goodwill that are tucked into those cards. Because someone not only took the time to write them, they took the time to address the cards, lick the stamp, and then stand in line for three hours in the one post office left unclosed in the neighborhood.

I am not worthy.

But I do so love getting them, smiling at the names, and then stringing them up along the entrance wall.

Next year, I’ll get to them. I promise. But until then here’s a recipe for those fab Devils:

Devils on Horseback (from BBC Food)
(makes 10, I suggest making atleast 50, these things disappear!)
10 prunes, stones removed
5 rashers streaky bacon, halved widthways
1 tablespoon olive oil
Preheat the oven to 200C/400F/Gas 6.
Wrap half a rasher of bacon around each prune and secure with a cocktail stick.
Place into a baking sheet and drizzle over the oil. Cook in the oven for ten minutes, or until the bacon is crisp.
To serve, place onto serving plate.

photo by andifeelfine (flickr)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

