Lights!

T’is winter in Britain: T’is the season of darkness.

At 4 pm, just when my children come blinking out of school, darkness envelops London.

So I’ve brought out my big guns: my ropes upon ropes of sparkling white Christmas lights.

I’ve strung them around the kitchen cabinets, down the banister, over the fireplace, entwined with the fichus.

Enough, says my husband, you’ll either electrocute us or burn down the house. Not to mention global frying.

But the darkness is now lit. And I am less crabby. For there is nothing so crabby as the crabbiness that falls around 4 pm.

There is mystery and solace and wonder in light.

I sit in my living room with the twinkling and I feel about as cozy as you can without having fur and whiskers.

In the kitchen, my children sit at the table, tongues pressed between their teeth as they draw Christmas cards.

My smugness is as thick as eggnog.

Here are my favorite quotes about light:

You can’t have a light without a dark to stick it in.  Arlo Guthrie

Treat your friends as you do your pictures; and place them in the best light.  Jennie Jerome Churchill

Do you realize that if it weren’t for Edison we’d be watching TV by candlelight? Al Boliska

photo by casmium (flickr)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

