Losing my religion?

losing my religionI can’t log on without finding another article or blog divulging someone’s fall from religion.

And the response of readers is amazing. It’s as if everyone’s doubts about religion have been simmering under the surface and the ability to give their two cents anonymously has allowed them to explode. Atheists have never been noisier.

Similarily, the idea for Believe Me stemmed from my own indecision about whether to raise my children with a religious faith.

I am a lapsed Catholic. My husband is a mouthy atheist. I call him a devout Darwinist. In fact, the germ of this story occurred a couple of years ago when my daughter was about six and she was asking my husband whether heaven existed and he said no and she started crying. After I calmed her down, saying Daddy had his opinions but that didn’t necessarily mean that they were true, I came and hissed at him, “You can’t deny a six-year-old child heaven.”

And I began to wonder, what are the consequences of denying a child a belief in heaven?

So began the idea for Nic Delano, a 13-year old whose mother has raised him to be rational, scientific and logical until one day she discovers he’s been sneaking off to bible class.

I wrote it as a personal journey: to discover my connection to religion. And it’s becoming apparent very quickly that many people are making the same journey…

photo by Dom Dada (flickr)

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Losing my religion?

  1. “And I began to wonder, what are the consequences of denying a child a belief in heaven?”

    Conversely, what are the consequences of promising a child heaven?

  2. ninakillham

    True, but I have a friend whose child died tragically young and was comforted by the fact he believed in heaven. So I don’t know. Sometimes I feel guilty I haven’t given that belief to my kids. Please read my book. I’d love to know what you thought.

  3. Perhaps, but a child could also be horrified by death due to a fear of hell. Depending on what kind of Christian (or other religious person) you are.

    When dealing with a very little child, perhaps comfort is the more important thing. But at which point (if any) should what is comfortable take a back seat to what is true? (Or, more accurately, what there is evidence for.)

  4. ninakillham

    Very good question and a very thoughtful point. Thanks.

  5. Miranda

    HI there. We met a family on holiday last year whose children told my children that we would all be going to hell because we didn’t believe in their God! Marvellous! My kids were rather amused. They go to a C of E school where they receive a little light religion that keeps them in touch with the fact there is a lot of stuff science hasn’t explained to us yet! They take on board all the stories in the same way they take on the story of Father Christmas. Expect they’ll turn out okay?!

  6. ninakillham

    They are turning out beautifully! And wise.

Leave a Reply

