New Year Resolutions

new-year-resolutions1

I know it’s mid-March but I’m a bit behind in everything, OK? Better late than never, right?

Unfortunately I still don’t really have one.

And why are we encouraged to have resolutions anyway? Just another thing to feel bad about. Another thing to have failed to do.

My daughter announced that she was going to try to eat more chocolate. Which I think is a fine idea.

I tend to put too much in to my resolution lists. Like the one year I wrote down: Find a husband and have 2.4 children.

Other years I’ve resolved to run a marathon and never ran further than two blocks. I’ve resolved to make $100,000 and ended up not making enough to file a tax form. I’ve resolved to eat more healthily and then subsisted on cappuccinos and Godiva chocolates.

So I think humility and realism is in order.

My favorite resolution was when my friend, Lynn, announced a couple of years ago that she was going to try to remember to wash her face at night.

The scale was perfect.

So I’ve winnowed mine down this year. I’ve decided to put on my running shoes twice a week.

It’s a start.

photo by Danielle_Bardgette (flickr)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “New Year Resolutions

  1. I totally agree with your take on New Year’s resolutions. Actually I was thinking of this exact thing this week…wondering if my resolution to lose weight counted as successful if it was only as a result of the flu?

    Your daughter’s idea is the best. More chocolate. The world would be a much better place if everyone ate more chocolate.

    So, you put on your running shoes twice a week. I’m going to take it a little slower. I am going to look at my running shoes once a week and visualize putting them on.

    If I can find them 🙂

Leave a Reply

