What? No YouTube?

youtubeSo you can no longer watch Alexandra Burke’s Hallelujah on YouTube in this country. Something about a tiff between YouTube and Google.

Well, darn.

It reminded me of when a couple of months ago, my daughter and I spent an afternoon playing it over and over again. She had came home and said kids were laughing at her because she’d never heard of Alexandra Burke. Seems the girl had won X Factor. What’s X Factor? I said. Exactly, my daughter said.

I am such a bad mother. My children know all about Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Nina Simone even Jacques Brel but have never been allowed to watch X Factor.

So we sat down in front of my computer and zipped around YouTube. We checked out Alexandra. Fabulous voice, by the way. And then we went surfing and ended up listening to every version of Halleluia we could find: Jeff Buckley, Rufus Wainwright, Allison Crowe, Kate Voegele, and of course, Leonard Cohen who wrote the song. I personally loved KD Lang’s version. But I think we decided we really liked these four guys from Norway the best.

Anyway, I hope Youtube and Google get over their differences.

But in the meantime you can still watch those four guys from Norway: Espen Lind, Askil Holm, Alejandro Fuentes, Kurt Nilsen.

photo by 22n (flickr)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

