Self promotion

self-promotionOh god, I made the mistake of looking at another writer’s blog today. It’s so zoomy and groovy and interesting and salient I want to stuff a sock in my mouth.

It also makes me realize how inept I am at publicity. I should be putting a picture of my new book somewhere on the home page of my website. But nooooo, I’ve got a fancy photo of moi. The whole thing is about me, me, me. Books? Oh, yeah. Yeah. They’re around here somewhere. Now where did I put them? I can’t remember. But have I told you about me lately?

My publisher’s publicist must be committing hari kari with her Nintendo pen.

But I think the main reason I have trouble with promotion is that for me it’s not really a book. It’s a group of characters who live on in my head. And like many writers, I’m always surprised I had anything to do with creating them. Because characters have a way of being more than what you originally imagined.  They take on their own lives and become people you actually knew. Later, you wonder how they’re doing.

So anyway, I’ve got a book coming out soon. In 8 days and 5 hours to be exact. It’s called Believe Me (Penguin). It is about a mother who is an Atheist and an astronomer and who has raised her son to be very rational and scientific until one day she finds out he’s been sneaking off to bible class. It’s about faith and science and a wonderful 13 year old boy and his mother who have become very close to my heart.

photo by Practicalowl (flickr)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Self promotion

  1. Hey, I didn’t know you had a new book coming out! Congrats!

  2. ninakillham

    Ha ha! Yes, it’s coming out in the States next week. It’s called Believe Me. Fingers crossed!

  3. matteo

    The countdown starts…..Believe it, baby.

    So what’s the address for the zoomy blog? I think yours is pretty zoomy. How about giving out the other blog’s info for comparison?

  4. ninakillham

    Very good idea! Too many to name though but one I remember is Eileen Cook’s. And though not an author’s blog, I like your friend’s lights, camera, motherhood.

Leave a Reply

