JD Salinger on Facebook

jd-salinger

Can you imagine?
JD has no friends.
JD IS ignoring you.
JD IS wanting you to f*** off.
Now, of course, he’s got a fan section with 7594 fans. One of whom quite rightly said that JD Salinger would probably hate its existence. It was his birthday the other day and many of his fans logged on to wish the old boy many happy returns. I wish him them as well. I still remember exactly where I was sitting when I read The Catcher in the Rye. And I still count Holden Caulfield as one of my oldest, dearest friends.

The publishing business is so different since Salinger last published a story in 1965. These days a writer is highly encouraged (threatened?) to have a website presence. So the ivory tower approach to writing is fading. That don’t bother us, we’re thinking and writing brilliant things for you, the unwashed masses, to read and learn something.

Some writers, sure, can still sit in their tower and get away with it. They don’t need to blog or create a website or even smile. They’re the ones with the fan clubs on MySpace and Facebook with the many fans who talk to each other about the latest book and how OMG, it’s just the best one yet! And yes, I’m a wee bit envious. Of course I know of a couple of authors who started their own fan clubs and I think, oh, please. Shoot me if I ever do that.

Now of course next week I might think differently. An old dog can learn new tricks. But I doubt it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “JD Salinger on Facebook

  1. There are 19 JD Salingers on Facebook, most of them faceless. Is any one of these JD himself? No. I mean, of course not! What IS the point? Who ARE these people? I say, get a life, guys. Oh, and that goes for members of the ‘People who hate “The Catcher in the Rye” group too.

    I’m with you on the envy thing. But I think we’re in pretty good company when it comes to authors who DO blog! So keep it up, Nina; am enjoying your posts very much – even the drunken ones!

Leave a Reply

